Race Preview NASCAR All-Star Race - Bristol

Race Preview: NASCAR All-Star Race – Bristol (7/15)

  • All Star Race
  • All-Star Open
  • Aric Almirola
  • Bristol Motor Speedway
  • Bubba Wallace
  • Clint Bowyer
  • Michael McDowell
  • NASCAR Cup Series
  • William Byron
By Nick Starling July 14, 2020 0 Comment
Please Share!

Traditionally, the NASCAR All-Star Race always takes place the weekend before Memorial Day at Charlotte Motor Speedway. However, due to the Covid-19 schedule shakeup, the race will take place this Wednesday night at Bristol Motor Speedway with up to 30,000 fans in attendance.

What’s at stake in the NASCAR All-Star Race

The NASCAR All-Star Race is always a big event because of its one million dollar prize to the race winner. With big prize money up for grabs and the length of this race being shortened, it creates for some great action on the track.

There are no points at stake during this race, therefore the drivers can put everything into winning instead of worrying about a points situation. When you combine everything that’s up for grabs on the world’s fastest half-mile track with up to 30,000 fans in attendance, this will be a race you don’t want to miss.

Unique changes

If changing the All-Star Race to the world’s fastest half-mile wasn’t enough to spice this race up, NASCAR has made a lot of small changes just for this race. The biggest one will be the choose rule.

The choose rule is nothing new to most short track racing fans and will allow drivers to choose what lane they want on restarts. To be clear, NASCAR won’t have an actual cone on the track for the restarts. Instead, there will be a designated point on the track where drivers choose which lane they want for the restarts. If a driver doesn’t make a clear choice of the inside or outside lane, he will be issued a penalty and restart at the back of the field.

This year, the choose rule will be in effect for both All-Star Open and the All-Star Race. The other changes for this race will be all visual on the cars including neon lights under the cars. Additionally, the car numbers on the side will be smaller and pushed back to share a spot with a larger sponsor decal.

All-Star Open/Fan vote

For those who will be tuning in to watch the NASCAR All-Star event for the first time, let’s go over some of the race formatting.

The All-Star event starts off with the All-Star Open. This race is for all of the drivers who didn’t receive a points win in the 2019 season, not a past All-Star race winner and not a former Cup Series champion.

There are 22 drivers that have entered into the All-Star Open as they hope to qualify for the All-Star Race. Among those drivers are Clint Bowyer, William Byron and Bubba Wallace. The open will have three segments that consist of 35 laps, 35 laps, and 15 laps. The winner of each segment will secure a spot in the All-Star Race.

Once that driver wins the segment they will drop out of the race. For the drivers who don’t win one of the segments, their fate will be left up to the fan vote that will determine who will be the last driver to enter the main feature race.

Michael McDowell and Aric Almirola will lead the All-Star Open to green at 7 pm EST on FS1.

All-Star race

The All-Star Race will keep its format from last year including four stages at 55 laps, 35 laps, 35 laps, and 15 laps. Green and yellow flags will count in the first three stages. Only green flags will count during the last stage.

If the race has to restart with two laps to go in the last stage, there will be unlimited attempts as long the race is under green flag conditions to end the race under a green-white-checkered finish.

The following drivers have already clinched an All-Star Race spot and will lineup:

  1. Martin Truex Jr
  2. Alex Bowman
  3. Ryan Blaney
  4. Justin Haley
  5. Kevin Harvick
  6. Matt Kenseth
  7. Kurt Busch
  8. Cole Custer
  9. Brad Keselowski
  10. Kyle Busch
  11. Ryan Newman
  12. Joey Logano
  13. Chase Elliott
  14. Jimmie Johnson
  15. Denny Hamlin
  16. Erik Jones

Spots 17-19 will be filled by the segment 1, 2 and 3 winners of the All-Star Open. The 20th and final spot will go to the All-Star Fan Vote winner. NASCAR’s best will take the green flag for the All-Star Race at 8:30 EST on FS1.

Embed from Getty Images

Please Share!


Write A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *